Blog Tour

The Golden Compass Blog Tour

Feature image-2I’m so happy so be part of The Golden Compass Blog Tour! For those who don’t know, The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman, is the first book in the His Dark Materials trilogy a.k.a my favourite book series EVER! More exciting even is the long-awaited follow-up to the series, The Book of Dust, which will be released later in the year. I’m swooning right now!!!

Here’s a synopsis of The Golden Compass:

312407

Lyra Belacqua is content to run wild among the scholars of Jodan College, with her daemon familiar always by her side. But the arrival of her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, draws her to the heart of a terrible struggle—a struggle born of Gobblers and stolen children, witch clans and armored bears. And as she hurtles toward danger in the cold far North, Lyra never suspects the shocking truth: she alone is destined to win, or to lose, this more-than-mortal battle.

Philip Pullman’s award-winning The Golden Compass is a masterwork of storytelling and suspense, critically acclaimed and hailed as a modern fantasy classic.

This Yearling paperback edition includes 15 pages of bonus material: some found letters of Lord Asriel, his scientific notes and other archival documents. This edition also features artwork by Philip Pullman at the opening of each chapter.

New York Times Bestseller
Newsweek Top 100 Book of All Time
An Entertainment Weekly All-Time Greatest Novel
Winner of the Guardian Prize for Children’s Fiction

“Very grand indeed.” —The New York Times

“Superb . . . all-stops-out thrilling.” –The Washington Post

“A shattering tale that begins with a promise and delivers an entire universe.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

The Golden Compass is one of the best fantasy / adventure stories that I have read. This is a book no one should miss.” –Terry Brooks

Add it on Goodreads

Buy on Book Depository


So, for today, I could simply rave about how great these books are, but that would surely end up being a very, very lengthy post so I decided to do something a bit more exciting.

One of the incredible aspects of the His Dark Materials world is that everyone has a dæmon. If you haven’t read the books yet (which you definitely MUST READ) you may be asking WHAT? Well, allow me to explain… A dæmon is a physical demonstration of a person’s “soul”, that takes the shape of the animal that most resembles the personality of that person.

So, today, I decided to tell which animal I think is my dæmon. And then, I dare you to give a go at my quiz to find out the shape of your dæmon!

My dæmon

Trust me, this was no easy task. There are so many great animals out there and it’s really hard to choose just one, but after some research (thank you Wikipedia) I ended up deciding that my dæmon would almost surely be a Red Panda.

Here are the reasons:File_000

  1. They are super cute! I now that is probably a silly reason but they are so huggable, and honestly I think I’m rather cute as well. And I like hugs so there you have it.
  2. They are solitary animals. Yes, I like hugs, but from my mum. Other than that I’m not a very sociable person. Just me, myself and my books.
  3. They like to sleep, and so do I.
  4. They are very heat-sensitive and can’t stand temperatures over 25 ºC. Well, guess what? Neither can I! I really don’t like heat, and that is why Fall and Winter are my favourite seasons.
  5. They are rather quiet and have very limited communication sounds. I’m rather quiet myself. Truth be told, I have very long and interesting conversations inside my head, but talking is not something I’m really into. Anti-social alert!
  6. They’re really cute. Wait, I said that before, didn’t I? But just look at it… How can you resist such a fur-ball?

Quiz

So, now is the time for you to find which animal is your dæmon!

http://www.playbuzz.com/downther10/discover-your-d-mon

This is my first time doing anything of this kind, but it was quite fun to create this quiz. Hope you enjoyed it!


Want to now more about the new book in the His Dark Materials universe? Here’s some more information from the press release:

The first volume of Philip Pullman’s The Book of Dust – which has been speculated about for years – will be published on Thursday 19 October 2017.

(…)

Philip Pullman comments: “I know from their letters and tweets that my readers have been waiting patiently (mostly) for The Book of Dust for a long time. It gives me great pleasure and some excitement at last to satisfy their curiosity (and mine) about this book.

“The first thing to say is that Lyra is at the centre of the story. Events involving her open the first chapter, and will close the last. I’ve always wanted to tell the story of how Lyra came to be living at Jordan College and, in thinking about it, I discovered a long story that began when she was a baby and will end when she’s grown up. This volume and the next will cover two parts of Lyra’s life: starting at the beginning of her story and returning to her 20 years later.

“So, second: is it a prequel? Is it a sequel? It’s neither. In fact, The Book of Dust is… an ‘equel’. It doesn’t stand before or after His Dark Materials, but beside it. It’s a different story, but there are settings that readers of His Dark Materials will recognise, and characters they’ve met before. Also, of course, there are some characters who are new to us, including an ordinary boy (a boy we have seen in an earlier part of Lyra’s story, if we were paying attention) who, with Lyra, is caught up in a terrifying adventure that takes him into a new world.

“Third: why return to Lyra’s world? Dust. Questions about that mysterious and troubling substance were already causing strife 10 years before His Dark Materials, and at the centre of The Book of Dust is the struggle between a despotic and totalitarian organisation, which wants to stifle speculation and enquiry, and those who believe thought and speech should be free. The idea of Dust suffused His Dark Materials. Little by little through that story the idea of what Dust was became clearer and clearer, but I always wanted to return to it and discover more.”

Read more at https://www.penguinrandomhouse.co.uk/media/news/2017/february/philip-pullman-announces-publication-of-first-volume-of-the-book/#HQJGW2WQjZbT9dJc.99


 

Well, I can hardly contain my excitement! I’m sure that The Book of Dust will be as amazing as the existing trilogy and I can’t wait to have the book in my hands!

What about you? How anxious are you for this release?

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “The Golden Compass Blog Tour

    1. I agree! I’m not sure I’ll reread it cause I still have so many books to read, but I think I’ll check out the graphic novels of the Golden Compass and read Lyra’s Oxford and Once Upon a Time in the North since they complement the trilogy and I haven’t read them yet

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

