Book Reviews

Jellyfish

Jellyfish Cover

Author: Lev D. Lewis

Pages: 365 (E-books)

Publisher: Alleyway Press

Release Date: October 23, 2016

Source: I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion towards the book.

Amazon.com

Goodreads

4

1

Frank Bale used to be a lawyer. Now he is simply a shadow of his former self, living in a decaying house with holes in his trousers. Obsessed with Philip Marlowe, he dreams of a chance to investigate a real crime. However, when that opportunity finally arrives, he finds himself being the prime suspect. That only makes him more determined to find the true killer, but being an investigator isn’t easier when you don’t have much more than the advice from an old Tradecraft Manual.

2

It was obvious that a lot of planning went into this book. The mystery was complex, intriguing and all the small details in the story were carefully interwoven. There was always new information being provided to keep you interested, but there were also certain details that were cleverly kept hidden. I’m a big fan of crime and mystery books and TV shows, and one of the things I hate the most is when the killer is so obvious and you already know who he is since the first chapters but the investigator still keeps playing stupid. Well, don’t expect that from Jellyfish. Although I had my suspicions, it was quite impossible to find out exactly who the killer was given the information provided. However, the story was so well planned and all details were carefully explained that it made a lot of sense that the killer was that “certain person” that I shall not mentioned or I would spoil the book for you all.

The characters were also complex and I think the various social classes were very well depicted, each with their quirks and dialects.

Another thing that I also enjoyed in Jellyfish were the descriptions of London. Well, some of them might have been a bit too long, but I though it was a great way to get to know the city, especially if you only have been there once, like me.

3

It was hard to like Frank Bale. He was one of those sarcastic people that have private jokes that only they understand, and that annoys me a bit. Also, sometimes I disliked the way he described women, but I guess that’s my feminist side talking. However, when I don’t like the main character, it’s a bit hard for me to truly enjoy the story so sometimes I got tired of reading because I couldn’t stand his bad jokes anymore.

The ending also disappointed me a bit. I just think that I was hoping for some more closure on the crime. And I also expected some more character development on Frank’s part. In my opinion, he did become more selfless through out the story and I bet he learned a lesson on women as well, but he still remained in the same dump of a house in which he started. I guess I just hoped to see him more successful, to get credit for solving the crime. Maybe that’s something we’ll get to see in the next book, who knows?


I really think that Jellyfish is like a jumbled puzzle at the start, but all the pieces managed to fit together and create a beautiful image at the end. With lots of suspense and humour, this is definitely a must-read for fans of crime novels!

Leave a Reply

